Finished Motion Graphic (Beat 1)

After many iterations I have finished my section of the motion graphic, and I am rather pleased with it. I think it has many elements that work successfully, such as the pan across at the beginning and the zoom in to the house. I did have help with this, but I think as a learning experience this project has been very successful.

We decided to make the title ‘The Name of The Helper’, to make it more ambitious from the beginning to what fairy tale we were doing. The title relates back to my research right at the beginning, as this is how the original story is classified in the Aarne-Thompson classification system.

I had some trouble with the hand, and ideally I would like to have this as a moving animation, but this idea came too late and I wish I had given enough time to do this, as I think it would have really pulled it all together. The running girl was somewhat successful, I think it is clear what is happening, but could have been more exaggerated, with more head movement. At some points it looked as if she was floating, but I tried to combat this by adding a black ‘path’ under her feet so she had a surface to move on. On the other hand, I think it really resonates with the shadow puppet idea, as you can see how the different limbs are moving. The hand appearing also alludes to this; the puppet and the puppet master.

I found it somewhat frustrating because I had lots of things I wanted to accomplish but I do not yet have the skills to do, but I feel very optimistic as I did find ways to do many of these things, such as zooming in to the window and creating a moving background. I would be very happy to use after effects again for a project, which is a big step up from how I felt at the beginning of this process. I think that in itself is an achievement.

Leave a comment